Leave a comment

You’re Going to Have to Spend the Money

I am truly disturbed! I mean completely blown away! I’m angered! I’m outraged and downright disgruntled. I have heard this comment way too often “I cannot afford to eat healthy foods”.

Before I go into why this upsets me, let me just acknowledge some very valid points:
• if you live in a perceived economically depressed area the food choices are limited or the price is elevated.
• it is much cheaper to buy processed food than it is whole foods.
• most of us grew up eating processed and that’s what our palate enjoys.
• even if you switched to buying whole foods, it isn’t enough to feed a family bigger than 2 people.

Like I mentioned these ARE valid points and I get it. Why do I get it? Because I was one of the people who spoke loudly about those points. I am BEGGING YOU to have a change of heart!!

Here is why I’m angered, outraged, disgruntled. I went to the pharmacy to place a prescription for a family member. The pharmacist informed me that she runs out of a particular mediation very quickly & the order would be partially filled because she doesn’t have enough to complete the order. She informed me that original price of the medication is $430 for a one month supply. This equals to $3.60 for 120 pills. Even with insurance subsidizing most of the order I was informed that my total would be $150. When the pharmacist said the total for just the one prescription I saw stars!! This is a racket!!!! Highway robbery!

Do you realize this is a setup?! My point is to be proactive about your health and not reactive. We are not predisposed to illnesses however this is what the health care field & food industry would like for us to believe. I’m not naive to think that we aren’t born with certain illnesses, this we can all agree, we are born imperfect and have to deal with certain illnesses from infancy. Diabetes, high blood pressure, high cholesterol, chronic back pain, migraines, obesity, heart disease, arthritis are all preventable diseases.

Why did I call it a racket? The medication needed to alleviate the symptoms to these preventable diseases are there to help you “cope” with the problem not “cure” At $3.60 a pill for a one month supply of 120 pills x 12 months =$5200 for 1 prescription! Suppose you have more than one medication to fill, do you think the wonderful world of healthcare want you to stop using these pills? Think of the profit margin, think of the mass manufacturing… just think period!! Stop and think for one moment what’s really going on here. America is getting sicker and sicker by the day!! We are being brainwashed, hoodwinked and bamboozled!

Now lets look at the $150 co-payment or worse no medical insurance at all & you have to pay $430, that’s money gone! Just for you to cope not cure your symptomatic problems. Lets go to the store and spend $150 in Kale, Collards, Green Leafy Lettuce, Onions, Peppers, Brown Rice, Garlic, Tomatoes, cucumbers squash…just to name a few! They all have medicinal qualities; they are anti-inflammatories, they lower high blood pressure, lowers cholesterol, alleviates migraines, alleviates sinus pressure, aids in digestion, full of antioxidants that help prevent cancer. These foods are full of macro & micronutrients. This is nature’s medicine!!

You can pay for nature’s medicine over and over again and the benefits of using nature’s medicine over America’s medicine will always be the same! Nature’s medicine is designed to keep you healthy and make you healthier! America’s medicine is designed to help you cope while you continue to eat the foods that continue to contribute to your illness & possibly make you sicker. I won’t jump on the food industry soapbox right now. I’ll save that for another blog day.

The most chilling thought that ran through me today is there will probably come a day when I will be responsible for taking care of my elders in my family. I cannot imagine paying $400 for one medication and having to possibly pay for more medicine for me or others in my household.

Family, I beg you on bended knee to consider taking care of yourself right now while you have the money and the strength to do so!! It only gets harder as the decades roll in. In your 60’s , 70’s and 80’s your income will be reduced, your energy might be reduced as well, possibly making it impossible to take care of yourself properly. Why not be proactive right now?! Don’t give your money to the biggest racketeering industry in America. Invest in yourself by eating right & exercising. Go outside your community to seek cheaper prices if you have to. Aren’t you worth it? Is your family worth the effort? You owe it to yourself and your family!! You’re going to have to spend the money anyway!!! Why not spend on yourself and your family!

Leave a comment